Logged in as: -
www.newzealandcds.com: Quality CDs direct from New Zealand
Your shopping cart Account Login Account information Home
Shopping cart  #Items: 0  Subtotal: $ 0

Day ,SonnyCollection

Born in Rawene in 1942, John Hone Wikaira (known as Sonny from an early age) grew up surrounded by music, ranging from big band jazz to country and western, Hawaiian and Pacific music, & pop music of the day. After moving to Auckland Sonny formed The Sharks in 1959 which soon became The Sundowners. Throughout the early 60’s The Sundowners recorded a string of singles and an EP for both Viking Records and Zodiac Records as well as touring New Zealand several times and a tour to Australia.
During the 1970’s Sonny played at a series of Johnny Tabla clubs but the soul standards which long played a part in Sonny’s repertoire were gradually replaced by a more strident rhythm and blues and at decade’s end he teamed up with Midge Marsden’s Kiwi Connection, an all-out blues band.
Ill health forced an early retirement in the late 90’s and throughout the following decade personal appearances were few. Throughout his 40 year career, Sonny Day performed alongside some of the finest musicians and singers in NZ including Mahia Blackmore, Mike Farrell, Paul Jamieson, Tama Renata, Josie Rika and Dave Russell to name a few.
There were only periods when his talents were recorded – The Sundowners and the All-Stars. The fifteen tracks on this CD are pretty much all that was released by Sonny Day but on the live circuit he was a giant, one of the greatest singers and musicians NZ has produced.
Sonny Day died on the 9th August 2007. On Sunday the 17th August 2008 a tribute concert was staged for Sonny with performances from the Alibis, Barry Saunders, Willoughby, Midge Marsden, Mud Sharks, Nga Kaumaatua, ,Ponsonby Express and Side Effects among others to honour the great man.

1. Saving Up
2. Baby (You Got What It Takes)
3. Take It Easy
4. Missing You Blues
5. Walking On Water
6. Wolverton Mountain
7. The Minimum Wage
8. Johnny B Goode
9. Baby Jane
10. Tell Me Why
11. Things Will Be Different
12. The Nitty Gritty
13. Hawaiian Wedding Song
14. Little Lonely One
15. Keep A Knockin

Our Price:

go back    

Privacy policies |  Security statement |  Shipping guidelines |  Terms & conditions | Contact us
© 2005-2021 www.newzealandcds.com. All rights reserved.