Logged in as: -
www.newzealandcds.com: Quality CDs direct from New Zealand
Your shopping cart Account Login Account information Home
Shopping cart  #Items: 0  Subtotal: $ 0

Williams ,PixieFor the Record

2011 released ,stunning digitally re-mastered collection of Pixie Williams' songs,originally recorded between 1948 and 1951.Includes detailed 28 page booklet.
'For the Record' includes her much loved, and best known recording of "Blue Smoke".
Pixie Williams' incredible voice can now be clearly heard, as can each instrument, brought together again in perfect harmony as if the band were performing, and being recorded today.

In 1948, Pixie Williams gave voice to one of the most enduring popular melodies of the twentieth century, Blue Smoke, composed by Ruru Karaitiana. In the years that followed, she recorded a collection of songs mixing universal themes and international musical styles with an unmistakeable flavour of Aotearoa New Zealand.

In 1951 New York music trade magazines described Blue Smoke as one of the major hits of the year - a 'musical jackpot' with both jukebox and radio listeners. It was covered by a host of internationl artists, including American crooner Dean Martin who phoned Karaitiana from the US seeking more songs.

Following the success of Blue Smoke Williams went on to record twelve more songs, with another Karaitiana song, 'Let's talk it Over' also becoming a hit selling over 20,000 records.

Without the original recording masters to work from (most were damaged after the initial pressings),mastering engineer Mike Gibson had to create new masters from much loved and played Shellac 78s. From these mono recordings, unwanted noise was removed to reveal the overall quality of the music and then painstakingly the layers of static, pops and scratches were unpicked to be transformed into quality recordings for this cd release.

1. Ain't it a Shame
2. Saddle Hill
3. Bell Bird Serenade
4. Senorita
5. It's Just Because
6. Let's Talk it Over
7. Sailing Along on a Moonbeam
8. Maori Rhythm
9. Best Wishes
10. Sweetheart in Calico
11. Windy City
12. Maori Land
13. Blue Smoke
14. Pixie: In Her Own Words

NB Sound quality on the cd is markedly better than the below audio sample via YouTube

Our Price:

See also Various Artists - The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined

go back    

Privacy policies |  Security statement |  Shipping guidelines |  Terms & conditions | Contact us
© 2006-2024 www.newzealandcds.com. All rights reserved.