Logged in as: -
www.newzealandcds.com: Quality CDs direct from New Zealand
Your shopping cart Account Login Account information Home
Shopping cart  #Items: 0  Subtotal: $ 0

Bradley ,ReubenCthulhu Rising

Dark and mystical, the nightmarish tales of famed horror author H. P. Lovecraft set the tone for Reuben Bradley's bold new album on Rattle Jazz (2015). Cthulhu Rising employs a musical language that is markedly different to those demonstrated on Reuben's previous Rattle Jazz releases, the Tui Award-winning Resonator (2011) and the Tui nominated Mantis: The Music of Drew Menzies (2012). Featuring two-time Grammy-nominated pianist Taylor Eigsti (USA), and equally renowned ex-pat bass player Matt Penman (NZ/USA), this new album is a treat for lovers of beautifully constructed, superbly played contemporary jazz.
"To me, Lovecraft's ability to cascade a reader into unexpected places has distinct parallels in the modern form of jazz," says Bradley. "I really wanted to explore that with this album." The compositions themselves are mostly through-composed, creating an atmosphere that puts listeners in 'the space' as much as in the notes. Using the rhythm and articulation of key quotes from the stories, soothing waves are punctuated by odd phrases, and there's a sense of fantasy and demise that Lovecraft fans will savour, and jazz fans will relish. Augmenting Reuben's dark and edgy drumming, Taylor Eigsti's lyrical virtuosity on piano and Matt Penman's graceful precision on bass compliment the contemporary breadth and depth of Reuben's complex but always engaging (at times witty) compositions.

1. Prologue
2. Clay Horror
3. Inspector le Grasse
4. Johansen's Voyage
5. The Price We Pay
6. In His House at R'lyeh
7. The Esoteric Order of Dagon
8. Cthulhu Fhtagn
9. Erich Zahn
10. Shadow Out of Time
11. Epilogue

Our Price:

go back    

Privacy policies |  Security statement |  Shipping guidelines |  Terms & conditions | Contact us
© 2005-2023 www.newzealandcds.com. All rights reserved.