Logged in as: -
www.newzealandcds.com: Quality CDs direct from New Zealand
Your shopping cart Account Login Account information Home
Shopping cart  #Items: 0  Subtotal: $ 0

Grim LtdLive at the Nicoberg 1966

Previously unissued 1966 live recording of Palmerston North's leading Garage-Beat combo ,unearthed by Frenzy and finally released in 2023!!
29 tracks housed in cardboard wallet sleeve.

On a balmy night in downtown Palmerston North in late 1966, the city's top band took the stage for the last time. The venue was the Nicoberg Coffee Lounge which was situated near the Stafford Arcade near Cuba St. The group were tipped to be the next big thing and were being courted by HMV and Viking Records, but decided to break up instead, for a variety of reasons. The group had been together for nearly 18 months and were affectionately labelled as "Palmerston North's Pretty Things", but they could just as easily been compared to The Who, The Rolling Stones or The Kinks . The group's reputation precedes them and you can now hear these legendary live, raw, warts and all recordings for the first time as recorded on the night by the group's drummer and future sound engineer John Van Der Reyden.

Primal garage rock from - who could have imagined? - Palmerston North! Droning and very raw, GRIM LTD were punk before the Velvets and Stooges got going. Mind blowing!-Garth Cartwright.

Raw, raucous and enjoyably abrasive 60s rockíníroll RíníB from Palmerston North! Who knew? A real discovery, an obscure band more punk and Pretty Things than Palmy.-Graham Reid

Tracks 1-25 Recorded live Nicoberg Coffee Lounge August 1966
Tracks 26-30 recorded at the Flamingo Club

1 Intro
2 Milk Cow Blues
3 Sticks and Stones
4 Oh Baby Doll
5 Mama,keep your big mouth shut
6 True Story
7 The Kids Are Alright
8 Talkin' Bout You
9 Don't You Know
10 My Babe
11 Substitute
12 I'll Go Crazy
13 Little Boy Sad
14 Gloria
15 I'll Be Doggone
16 Little Red Riding Hood
17 A Well Respected Man
18 Dancing In The Street
19 Da Doo Ron Ron
20 When I See That Girl Of Mine
21 You Must Believe Me
22 Too Many People
23 So Lonely
24 Take it Easy
25 That's Why I'm Crying

26 Get Off Of My Cloud
27 One Ugly Child aka Signifying Blues
28 Wake up my Mind
29 Talkin' Bout You
30 Mama,keep your big mouth shut

Our Price:

go back    

Privacy policies |  Security statement |  Shipping guidelines |  Terms & conditions | Contact us
© 2005-2023 www.newzealandcds.com. All rights reserved.