Logged in as: -
www.newzealandcds.com: Quality CDs direct from New Zealand
Your shopping cart Account Login Account information Home
Shopping cart  #Items: 0  Subtotal: $ 0


Superette were:David Mulcahy (JPSE / Eskimo / Spider, resides in Auckland) - vocals, guitar
Greta Anderson (photographer, resides in Sydney) - drums
Ben Howe (Fang, Arch Hill label manager, resides in Auckland) - bass guitar

This 2005 cd reissue compiles the complete recorded works of Superette - including the Tiger album from 1996, the Rosepig EP and the Touch Me single b-sides, all remastered onto one disc. They formed in 1995 and were featured in Pavement magazine very soon after. The Rosepig EP was released to massive critical acclaim, followed by the Tiger album in 1996. When the band went their separate ways, David recorded and released his solo album 'Oddy Knocky' on Arch Hill in 1998. It was Arch Hill's first release.
Comparisons to JPS Experience, Dave's previous band, are inevitable but Superette's smart, distinctive music sounds increasingly like its own thing: a blend of chunky riffs and sweet melodies that makes real comparison hard. But if you blend the attitudes of a certain Sonic Youthness in the second half of Tiger and a hint of T Rex, especially by the slower songs, with your classic Flying Nun songwriting ingredients then you may have it. Add the cryptic lyrical sense that has always characterised Mulcahy's writing and there's definitely something special here.

NZ Release April 25th 2005
1. Kiss Someone
2. Touch Me
3. Ugly Things
4. Saskatchewan
5. Bye Bye
6. Felo De Se
7. Cannibal
8. I Got It Clean
9. Taiwan
10. Funny Weather
11. Killer Clown
12. Waves
13. The Horse
14. Slide
15. Disappear
16. Beetle
17. Anything
18. Catacombs
19. Cheezel
20. Saskatchewan (Demo)

Our Price:

See also Various Artists - Second Season - Flying Nun DVD 2

go back    

Privacy policies |  Security statement |  Shipping guidelines |  Terms & conditions | Contact us
© 2005 www.newzealandcds.com. All rights reserved.