Logged in as: -
www.newzealandcds.com: Quality CDs direct from New Zealand
Your shopping cart Account Login Account information Home
Shopping cart  #Items: 0  Subtotal: $ 0

Nudie SuitsSweetacres

Two years after Songbook ,the Nudie Suits first album, second album Sweetacres is finally issued. Written and produced by singer/guitarist Mark Lyons, the new album Sweetacres is a scrapbook of psycho-nostalgic tunes recalling a childhood spent in the West Auckland suburb of Avondale. Its palette swings from the folk-pop feel many fans think of as the Nudies sound, to lush arrangements reminiscent of FM rock radio of the 1970s, and many points in-between. The coloured-pencil artwork, painstakingly created by Mark, presents a guided tour of the geographical locations that inspired each particular song, from the beloved corner dairy At The Old Dairy to the confectionary factory Sweetacres that gives the album its name. The enclosed booklet also features childhood snapshots and newspaper clippings of prize-winning sketches by Mark from the Sunday News childrens page. Since returning from three years spent in Melbourne (perhaps the motivation for writing songs about childhood and home), the Nudie Suits core members Mark Lyons, Dionne Taylor (steel guitar) and Tam Taylor (violin/keyboards) have enjoyed numerous support slots in the past year including Cat Power, Jolie Holland, Ken Stringfellow and the Mountain Goats. They have also been joined by a new rhythm section John Pain (ex-Hallelujah Picassos, bass) and Tim Robinson (drums).

Audio samples at www.myspace.com/nudiesuits

1. Inheriting The Stereo
2. Cabin Blues
3. Harangue
4. Sweetacres
5. Bright Lights
6. At The Old Dairy
7. Hubba Hubba Mother
8. Here Comes Bronco
9. Losing To Rock 'n' Roll
10. I've Had Enough

Our Price:

go back    

Privacy policies |  Security statement |  Shipping guidelines |  Terms & conditions | Contact us
© 2005-2023 www.newzealandcds.com. All rights reserved.